top of page
  • facebook icon
  • linkedin icon
  • Regal Jewelry Editor

Guidance to the 4C's of Diamonds with Regal Jewelry

Updated: Nov 1, 2023

Explore the captivating world of diamonds. Regal Jewelry guides you through the 4Cs of diamonds, a universal method for assessing diamonds initiated by Shipley, the founder of the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). The 4Cs consist of Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat.

1. Cut

A significant criterion for diamonds is their ability to transmit light and produce intense sparkle. According to the GIA, a diamond's cut refers to how well its facets interact with light. The diamond's cut grade is assessed by calculating the proportions of facets that affect the diamond's face-up appearance. This evaluation considers three factors: brightness (white light reflection from the diamond), fire (the dispersion of white light into all the colors of the rainbow), and scintillation (the sparkle of a diamond, including the pattern of light and dark areas caused by reflections within the diamond).

Diamond quality grading.

2. Color

Diamond color is typically evaluated using GIA's D-to-Z diamond color-grading system. The highest-quality diamond is graded as D, indicating the absence of color, and possessing no hue. It is chemically and structurally pure and perfect. The degree of colorlessness is measured by comparing a stone under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions to masterstones with established color values. The variation in a diamond's color impacts its quality and price.

Stone setting on jewelry casting piece.

3. Clarity

When evaluating clarity, one must consider inclusions and blemishes, both internal and external characteristics that occur when diamonds are created. According to GIA, the Diamond Clarity Scale comprises six categories:

  • Flawless (FL): No inclusions or blemishes visible under 10x magnification.

  • Internally Flawless (IF): No inclusions visible under 10x magnification.

  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2): Inclusions are so slight that they are difficult to see under 10x magnification.

  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2): Inclusions are observed with some effort under 10x magnification but can be characterized as minor.

  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2): Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification.

  • Included (I1, I2, and I3): Inclusions are obvious under 10x magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance.

Quality control on diamond jewelry.

4. Carat

Carat represents the physical weight of a diamond and is measured in metric carats, with 1 carat equal to 200 milligrams and subdivided into 100 points. Larger diamonds are rarer and thus hold greater value. However, it is essential to also consider criteria like cut, color, and clarity when evaluating a diamond's worth.

At Regal Jewelry, we source diamonds from suppliers who are transparent. We ensure that the diamonds we source are traceable through the Kimberley Process Certificates Scheme (KPCS) and the World Diamond Council System of Warranties Guidelines. Our customers can rest assured that our diamonds are conflict-free and traceable. With our professional full-range service and sustainable sourcing, Regal Jewelry is ready to help you thrive in the realm of diamonds.

Click the link below to explore more about our services.



bottom of page